What Can You Do To Create a More Positive Life?

I believe that we can always improve our lives towards a more emotionally, physically and positive lifestyle.  The journey to this more emotionally, physically and positive lifestyle is not easy and you just can’t ‘wish’ it to magically appear – you must work at it.  For example;  you can’t have a goal to be more fit and just exercise and eat fries, burgers and pizza all day long – you must combine a good fitness regime with proper nutrition in order to become more fit.  Wishing for a more positive and better life will not make that happen – you have to be proactive in your approach to attaining the goals in having a more positive and fulfilling life.  Here as some questions I have asked myself that have guided me (and continue to do so) towards a lifestyle that will create positive change for me and for what I care about:

Am I happy in my job?

I am very happy in my job.  I enjoy the people I work with and am paid reasonable well for what I do.  Having my current job allows me to get the knowledge and expertise I require for what I really want to do in the near future.   Is the reason you have your job to attain more material possessions, to get you out of debt or is it because you are happy and passionate about it?  Ask yourself – do you feel happy when you think about going to work?  If you really and authentically love what you do – you are blessed.  If not, maybe it is time for you to think about what will make you happy and start planning on how to reach that place of happiness and contentment.

I can’t leave my job now…and what I really would love to do isn’t going to pay me enough to live…..

You don’t have to leave your current job to start working towards a life that you authentically want to live.  If this is because you have too much debt – start by focusing on removing your debt.  Do you really need your big house?  Do you really need all the credit cards you currently have?  You will have less stress with less debt.  Do you really need the latest electronics, the biggest televisions, cars etc….is all that materialism going to be conducive to a more balanced and positive life?  Decreasing your debt will allow you to really focus on whatever it is that your are passionate about because you will not have your mind clouded with all those debt distractions.

Visualize – see yourself doing what you love and send that intention into the universe

I see myself living on a water-front property and giving advice on holistic health and natural health remedies to promote healthier living.  I also see myself defending nature and promoting a healthy environment for our planet and future generations.  I also see myself continuing my advocacy for the humane treatment of animals and promoting a vegetarian or vegan lifestyle.  I have already achieved half of my goal – I am currently an advocate for the environment, planet and animals by the awareness I create by writing my blogs or sharing information with friends and family.  I am also gradually taking courses that will ensure I have proper certification and knowledge about holistic health.  These are things that began with a notion, a belief and conviction – I visualized it and sent these intentions into the universe and slowly they are taking shape.  I am not putting any pressures on myself in trying to attain a goal of living a more emotionally, physically and positive lifestyle because I believe the process should be as enjoyable as whatever goal it is you want to reach.  Don’t get weighed down by any obstacle along the way instead, ask yourself why the universe put those obstacles in your way, acknowledge them, rectify them and move forward.

Is the negativity of other individuals getting in your way?

Don’t get caught up in other people’s drama or negative behaviours.  Most of the negative things people say about others is usually telling you something specific about that individual.  Don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t do something – we are all capable of doing great things.  If you find that you are surrounding by people who have a defeatist attitude and feel that ‘one person can’t make a difference’ – then maybe you are surrounding yourself with the wrong crowd.  When I am around people who have a negative outlook on life, people who may say things like; “I hate my life”, “My life is so boring”, “I can’t do that”, “we can’t change it so why bother trying” etc…I find that these types of people suck all the good energy out of me, that is why I try to politely avoid them.  There have been many people in my life who only seem to want to create drama and bring negative energy into their lives – I have no regrets that they are not part of my life today.  It is okay to remove yourself from those who don’t allow any light into their lives – just because they live in darkness doesn’t mean you have to.

Do things you enjoy – if you haven’t tried it how will you know whether you enjoy it or not?

I love reading X-men comics, love writing my blog posts, walking with nature, sitting by water, watching movies and animals – I am not limited to just enjoying these things, I do try new things.  If I didn’t try – I would never have discovered that I love to paint.  Don’t be limited by what you think you can’t do without even trying it.  I don’t enjoy heights and am not a fan of being in an airplane but this doesn’t mean I will never sky-dive????  You never know if you don’t try.

Be grateful  

I have gratitude for so many things – the relationships I have, my partner, my dog, my family, my job, my friends and my health.  The gratification I feel for these relationships I have is what allows me to work towards creating a more fulfilling and positive life.  

In our society – we are brainwashed to believe that the more you have the happier you will be.  It is not the things we have that will define us – it is what we do and how we treat others that will have the most impact on our lives and in our world.

Together, we can make the world a more positive one.