SONG OF THE WEEK

Like last weeks ‘song of the week’ – today’s song is also from the 70’s and from probably one of the most successful albums and groups of the 70’s – Fleetwood MacFleetwood Mac had numerous hits that included; “Dreams”, “Go Your Own Way”, “Don’t Stop”, “Rhiannon”, “You Make Loving Fun” and “As Long As You Follow” just to name a few.  Fleetwood Mac’s best-selling album to date (and one of the most successful of all-time) is Rumours.  As of 2003, Rumours had sold 19 million copies in the United States alone and over 40 million world-wide, a feat not to many artists have attained.

“Songbird” from Fleetwood Mac’s album ‘Rumours’ is the song I chose for this week’s song of the week.  The song is one of four songs solely written by Christie McVie.  The song has since been covered numerous times, but none of these reinterpretations had the emotion and essence of the original – with the exception of Eva Cassidy’s version.  Here are the lyrics, followed by the audio version and Eva Cassidy’s remake.

SONGBIRD

For you, there’ll be no more crying,
For you, the sun will be shining,
And I feel that when I’m with you,
It’s alright, I know it’s right

To you, I’ll give the world
to you, I’ll never be cold
‘Cause I feel that when I’m with you,
It’s alright, I know it’s right.

And the songbirds are singing,
Like they know the score,
And I love you, I love you, I love you,
Like never before.

And I wish you all the love in the world,
But most of all, I wish it from myself.

And the songbirds keep singing,
Like they know the score,
And I love you, I love you, I love you,
Like never before, like never before
like never before.

EVA CASSIDY’s version:

For further information about Fleetwood Mac, news, tour, music etc…please visit their website at:  http://www.fleetwoodmac.net/fwm/index.php

For further information about Eva Cassidy – please visit:  http://evacassidy.org/eva/

Together, we can make the world a more positive one!

One thought on “SONG OF THE WEEK

  1. I love both versions of this song – Eva was the only one who could have made something new out of it. Peace and thanks for posting them!

Leave a comment